English    中文

The distribution of seismic activity in China

2018-09-05  |   Editor : houguangbing  

Our country is located between the most powerful Pacific seismic belt in the world and Alpine-Humalayan seismic zone with complex structure, and frequent earthquake activities and the most earthquakes in the world.

Seismic activities in China are mainly distributed in 23 seismic belts in five areas. These five areas are:

(1) Taiwan and its adjacent waters;

(2) the southwest region, mainly in Tibet, western Sichuan and midwest Yunnan;

(3) the northwest region, mainly in the Hexi Corridor in Gansu, Qinghai, Nningxia and the north and south foot of Mount Tianshan;

(4) in north China, mainly in two sides of Taihang Mountain, Fenwei river valley, Yinshan – Yanshan area, central Shandong and Bohai Bay;

(5) Southeast coast of Guangdong, Fujian and other places. China's Taiwan province is located in the Pacific seismic belt, Tibet, Xinjiang, Yunnan, Sichuan, Qinghai and other provinces and regions are in the Himalayas - the Mediterranean seismic belt and other provinces and regions are in relevant seismic belts.

The 23 seismic zones are:

  • The Tancheng-lujiang belt, which is from Lujiang, Anhui province, from Tancheng, Shandong province to the northeast region.
  • The Yanshan belt;
  • Shanxi belt;
  • The Weihe Plain zone;
  • The Yinchuan belt;
  • Liupan mountain belts;
  • The eastern Yunnan belt;
  • Chayu, Tibet region belt;
  • The central belt of Tibet;
  • The southeast coastal zone;
  • Hebei Plain zone;
  • Hexi Corridor belt ;
  • Tianshui-Lanzhou belt;
  • Wudu-Mabian belt;
  • Kangding-Ganzi belt;
  • Peace river valley;
  • Tengchong-Lancang belt;
  • Western Taiwan belt;
  • Eastern Taiwan belt;
  • Western Yunnan belt;
  • South rim of Tarim belt;
  • South Tianshan belt;
  • North Tianshan belt.

The distribution of China's seismic belt is an important basis for the development of China's key surveillance and protection zones.

Label :
    Sign in for comments!

Comment list ( 0 )